Avishai Cohen showed enormous promise as both a composer and an acoustic bassist on his first album as a leader, Adama, which he produced with Chick Corea for the company Corea co-owned, Stretch records. Reminding listeners of his Israeli heritage, the post-bopper brings a heavy Middle Eastern influence to such impressive originals as “Reunion of the Souls,” “Ora,” and “No Change.” Although Cohen’s 1997 music wasn’t innovative — John Coltrane, Yusef Lateef, and Miles Davis successfully experimented with Middle Eastern elements when they embraced modal jazz in the late ’50s — Adama has a certain freshness to it. “Madrid,” “Dror,” and the title song find one of Cohen’s sidemen, Amos Hoffman, putting down his guitar in favor of the oud, and his use of this lute (which is prominent in traditional Arabic music) works so well in a jazz setting that one wishes Cohen employed Hoffman on the instrument even more. Cohen’s Spanish-influenced “Gadu,” meanwhile, features Corea on electric keyboards. Captivating from start to finish, Adama made it clear that Cohen

Written by Alex Henderson



  • Avishai Cohen - Bass
  • Claudia Acuna - Vocals
  • Steve Wilson - Soprano Saxophone
  • Steve Davis - Trombone
  • Jason Lindner - Piano
  • Brad Mehldau - Piano
  • Danilo Perez - Piano
  • Chick Corea - Fender Rhodes
  • Amos Hoffman - Guitar, Oud
  • Jeff Ballard - Drums, Percussion
  • Jordy Rossi - Drums
  • Don Alias - Congas
  • John Harrell - Photographer
  • Mixed by Bernie Kirs Composed by Avishai Cohen
  • A Welcome Voice

    "In putting together his arrangements, Cohen mixes meters in various combinations, allowing them to shift frequently, and couples that concept with a built-in intensity through his harmonic approach... Newcomer Avishai Cohen has assembled a unique session, largely through his interesting compositions, and is clearly a welcome voice on today's jazz scene."

    All About Jazz, Jim Santella, 1st April 1998

Avishai Cohen