Avishai Cohen - bass
Nitai Hershkovits - piano
Daniel Dor - drums

Produced by Avishai Cohen and Lars Nilsson

All songs written and arranged by Avishai Cohen, and published by Gadu Music / Sony / ATV Music Publishing, except track 11 (Charlie Chaplin, John Turner, Geoffrey Parsons - Bourne Co. / ASCAP)

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Lars Nilsson at Nilento Studios, Sweden between May and July 2014. Nilento Studio team: Michael Dahlvid, Jenny Nilsson.

Executive Producer - Ray Jefford
Project Coordinator - Nicola King
Art design – Toby Larnder
Front cover photo – Seda Ozguven Erdogan


Avishai Cohen once again opens an essential gateway into a new creative and expressive dimension.

From Darkness sees the Israeli composer and bassist go back to the very core of his musical idiom and activity. A belief reinforced by the influence of two outstanding partners, pianist Nitai Hershkovits and drummer Daniel Dor.

This unity between human and sound owes a lot to a virtue brought here to its highest intensity; mutual listening, a soulful and heartful science that presides over the destiny of true music. All eleven compositions were recorded with the impact of a live performance with clarity.

From Darkness charts a path from obscurity to light. It is indeed a key step in Cohen’s long-term quest for the absolute and for purity. The art of this trio is rich and condensed; swarming with new ideas, reduced to the essential and crossed by a thousand subtly harmonized shades.

“Here, three becomes one.”


Album Track Listing:

1. Beyond
2. Abie
3. Halelyah
4. C#-
5. Ballad for an Unborn
6. From Darkness
7. Lost Tribe
8. Almah Sleeping
9. Signature
10. Amethyst
11. Smile