Avishai Cohen – Vocals, Acoustic, Bass, electric wah waqh bass & piano
Karen Malka – Vocals
Itamar Doari – Percussion
Tal Kohavi – Drums
Jonathan Daskall – Keyboards
Yael Shappiro – Cello
Elysaf Bishari – Electric Bass, Oud
Sherrod Barnes – Guitar
Julia Klain – Violin

All songs published by
Sony ATV Music Publishing / Gadu Music,
except track 6 published by Sony/ATV Tunes LLC.,
track 11 by EMI Longitude Music.

All songs rcorded at Studio Ferber,
Paris, France by Jay Newland
assisted by Guillaume Dujardin, April 2017.

Produced and mixed by: Jay Newland
Except for tracks 7 and 12 produced by
Jay Newland, Avishai Cohen and Johnny Goldstein
and track 10 by Jay Newland,
Avishai Cohen and Lenny Ben Basat

Mastered by Geoff Pesche
at Abbey Road Studios, London, June 2017.

A&R and executive production
for Sony Masterworks:
Hervé Defranoux and Philippe Russo,
assisted by Lorene Brenin

Photographer: Andreas Terlaak
Artwork design: element-s, Jérome Witz

An entirely worthy successor to 2015’s From Darkness, 1970 is arguably Cohen’s offering to date that has the greatest mainstream appeal, as it sees the bassist-vocalist unveil 12 pieces that range from heartfelt original songs in English such as Emptiness and Blinded to spirited reprises of Middle Eastern folk songs. Cohen and a superb band that includes regular percussionist Itamar Doari, oud player-guitarist Elyasaf Bishari, keyboardist Jonatan Daskal, drummer Tal Kohavi, cellist Yael Shapira and vocalist Karen Malka, who featured on previous Cohen releases, have fine-tuned arrangements that are enviably concise and radio-friendly.

Unity, compassion and togetherness have been recurrent themes in Cohen’s work to date, and he expresses those feelings vividly on pieces like ‘Song of Hope’