Seven Seas

Avishai Cohen: Bass, Vocals. (Piano on ‘Dreaming’ and ‘Tres Hermanicas Eran’).
Shai Maestro: Piano.
Itamar Doari: Percussion, Vocals on ‘Two Roses’
Karen Malka: Vocals.
Amos Hoffman: Oud and Electric Guitar.
Jenny Nilsson: Vocals on ‘About a Tree’.
Jimmy Greene: Soprano and Tenor Saxophone.
Lars Nilsson: Flugelhorn.
Bjorn Samuelsson: Trombone.
Bjorn Bholin: English Horn.

Produced by Avishai Cohen, Itamar Doari and Lars Nilsson Recorded, mixed and mastered by Lars Nilsson at Nilento Studios, Goteburg, Sweden in September and October 2010.
Executive Producer: Nicolas Pflug

All songs written and composed by Avishai Cohen, except #2(Oyfn Eg Shyteyt A Boym – By Mark Warshavsky). #9 (Shnei Shoshanim – By Mordechai Ze’ira) and #10 (Traditional Ladino). All songs Arranged by Avishai Cohen except #1 and #3 by Avishai Cohen and Itamar Doari/ Horns arrangements on #6 by Shai Maestro.
All songs published by Gadu Music/Sony/ATV Music Publishing except #2, #9 and #10 copyright control.

Clementine Berry: Illustration and Artwork.
Avishai Cohen personal management and booking: Ray Jefford.

Now one of the most popular jazz players of the past decade, Avishai Cohen takes his artistic approach to its zenith, with Seven Seas. Featuring nursery rhymes, lullabies and suites in which heroic inspiration and symphonics abound. Seven Seas plunges us into a fabulous sound voyage, in which understatement and magnitude play a never-ending game of ping-pong, a trip that easily transposes to the silver screen. Once you get past the opening credits dripping in joyful nostalgia, you steer past isles of rhythm and continents of sound, winding up with a traditional piano ladino with Cohen’s intense vocals.

Cohen has reached a new pinnacle as an artist. It’s more of a fusion album, perhaps bringing us closer to reality of an odyssey, with its title that transports us into nautical legend: seven seas’ many twists and turns make it the most exciting of albums in Cohen’s discography.